My Favorite Posts that don’t make the Top Ten

Below are my personal top ten favorite posts that didn’t make yesterday’s top ten most popular posts–in no particular order.  Click on the post title to view it in its entirety.
 

And for the World Cup . . . QATAR???

Clearly one of my funnier posts, I enjoy it because it makes me laugh.  You may want to take that as a cue, since it is not one of my more popular posts and I am essentially laughing at my own cleverness, but in truth there is good information and wit . . . it practically wrote itself!

Visiting the Civil War in Frederick, MD

This was one of my first genuine and earnest ventures into travel literature, and while I might always nitpick what I write, I was really proud of this piece.

Harry Potter and a Look at Hogwarts in History

This should really be self-evident, right?  I consider the information provided by Professor Binns in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and place Hogwarts in the historical world from which it was founded.

Remembering MLK, A review and reflection on the new memorial

I really like this piece because it represents the sort of thing I should do well: reflecting on how we remember the past.  In this case, it is a challenging memorial to consider an important life in American history.

Dehumanizing words and writing the “other”

This post considers work of two scholars on the impact of words in creating toleration for intolerable acts by a society against a particular group of people.  These reflections on [mostly] historical atrocities highlight those instances in which words instigate and justify society’s use of sticks and stones.

How it all began: My love affair with History

A personal account of my journey to loving history, this was an essay recounts history’s long patience wooing of me.  Complete with embarrassing pictures!

A paper vs. digital rant

One of my favorites, not least because of the awesome pictures I included from the artwork of Brian Dettmer and Book Autopsies series–art that highlights the beauty of books through their aesthetics.  As much as I love technology, the dismissal of printed and bound books appalls me on more than one level–despite the obvious convenience of the e-book.

Holy Relics: highlighting sacred objects left by holy lives

This post grew out of two disassociated but coinciding events:  1) a Walter’s Gallery exhibit on holy relics and 2) a National Geographic documentary on the scientific examination of two sacred relics in Italy.  The post is intended both to define and contextualize relics.

The Northwest Passage: It’s On!  (Again…)

This is one of those perfect intersections between the past and present.  Due to climate change, the Northwest Passage, long ago sought after by the Northern European countries following the financial success of Spain and Portugal, has finally opened.  Just as then, competing claims for shipping rights have erupted, but unlike last time there is actually a lane to ship through!

Word of the Week, 7/25-7/30: ballad

Only the second post in my Word of the Week series, this one was a lot of fun–well, actually they’ve all been a lot of fun!–but, this one got into some pretty cool music history, including some of the best modern reworkings.  Music included!  If you like it, check out other words in this series by searching the category.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

